Letter From The Chairman:
Welcome to Cooper Union's Department of Mechanical Engineering. The Department's goal is to produce broadly- and rigorously-educated graduates, able to practice professionally, pursue advanced studies, and innovate in a wide range of fields.

The Department presently is staffed with six full-time faculty, one secretary, 15 adjunct instructors, and two laboratory managers. The class size averages around 25 for each of the four undergraduate classes and 10 for the Master's Degree Program.

The Department operates seven research/teaching laboratories:
  • Automotive Laboratory (Prof. George Delagrammatikas)
  • Biomedical Engineering Laboratory (Prof. David Wootton)
  • Combustion Laboratory (Prof. George Sidebotham)
  • Energy Reclamation and Innovation Laboratory (Prof. Robert Dell)
  • Materials Engineering Laboratory (Prof. Eric Lima)
  • Mechatronics Laboratory (Prof. Melody Baglione)
  • The Forrest Wade Rapid Prototyping Laboratory (Prof. C. Stan Wei)

    Your interests in CooperME are always appreciated.

    Enjoy your visit,
    C. Stan Wei
    Professor and Chairman